Africa granted nine World Cup slots

2018 FIFA World Cup Russia

Fifa has confirmed that nine African countries will to advance to the Fifa World Cup finals when the competition expands to 48 teams in 2026.

In January, the world football body unanimously voted for an expansion which would see the current format of 32 teams expand to 48.

According to website, the CAF region could get up to 10 places due to “an intercontinental play-off tournament involving six teams to decide the last two Fifa World Cup berths.”

Meanwhile, the host for the 2026 edition is yet to be decided as Fifa released a list of requirements the nation must meet in order to be considered when submitting an official bid.

Slots allocation for 2026 World Cup:

AFC (Asia): 8.5 slots

CAF (Africa): 9.5 slots

CONCACAF (North America): 6.5 slots

CONMEBOL (South America): 6.5 slots

OFC (Oceania): 1.5 slot

UEFA (Europe): 16 slots

You may also like