Real Madrid dominate UCL squad of the season

Sergio Ramos lifts the trophy after Real won the UCL final Sergio Ramos lifts the trophy after Real won the UCL final

Real Madrid’s retention of the European trophy saw Zinedine Zidane’s side dominate Uefa’s Champions League Squad of the Season.

The Spanish side put the sword to Juventus on Saturday following their 4-1 win in Cardiff to become the first side to win back-to-back trophies in the Champions League era.

Casemiro and Cristiano Ronaldo have been included in the squad, with Ronaldo finishing the campaign as the competition’s top scorer, while Casemiro was a key component in Real’s midfield.

In addition to the Casemiro and Ronaldo’s inclusion, defenders Sergio Ramos, Dani Carvajal, Marcelo, midfielders Toni Kroos, Isco and Luka Modric all made the cut bring the total number of Real players named to eight.

Runners-up Juve’s Gianluigi Buffon is joined by Leonardo Bonucci and Miralem Pjanic, while Atletico Madrid and Monaco represented by Jan Oblak, Antoine Griezmann, Diego Godin, Kylian Mbappe and Tiemoue Bakayoko.

Meanwhile, Barcelona and Bayern Munich have one player each in the form of Lionel Messi and Robert Lewandowski respectively.

Uefa’s 18-Man Champions League Squad of the Season:


Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid), Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus)


Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Marcelo (Real Madrid), Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus), Diego Godin (Atletico Madrid)


Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Luka Modric (Real Madrid), Isco (Real Madrid), Casemiro (Real Madrid), Tiemoue Bakayoko (Monaco), Miralem Pjanic (Juventus)


Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich), Kylian Mbappe (Monaco), Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid)