• SA shows interest to host Fifa Women’s SWC in 2023

    Fifa has confirmed that South Africa have shown interest in hosting the Fifa Women’s World Cup in 2023 after submitting their bid.

    South African will compete against eight other nations, including Argentinian, Australia, Bolivian, Brazil, Colombia, Japan, Korea, and New Zealand for the chance to host the the Women’s showpiece in 2023.

    This is the largest-ever list of member associations (MAs) to have submitted formal expressions of interest to Fifa with a view to hosting the Fifa Women’s World Cup, the first edition of which was held in 1991.

    All interested MAs have been sent the respective overview and bidding registration documents, and will have until 16 April 2019 to submit their bidding registration to Fifa.

    In line with the principles outlined in the overview document available on FIFA.com and with the bidding for the Fifa World Cup 2026, Fifa will implement a fair and transparent process, which will include a clear evaluation model as well as a concrete commitment to sustainability and human rights. All bid books will be published in full on FIFA.com in October 2019.

    Based on the Fifa Statutes, the Fifa Council will appoint the host(s) of the Fifa Women’s World Cup 2023.

    As communicated in the overview document and confirmed by the Fifa Council at its recent meeting in Miami, the result of each ballot and the related votes by the members of the Fifa Council will be open and made public.

    Banyana Banyana recently secured their qualification for the Women’s World Cup for the first time in 25 years at the 2018 African Women’s Cup of Nations in Ghana.

    The member associations are as follows:

    • Argentinian Football Association (AFA)
    • Football Federation Australia (FFA)
    • Bolivian Football Association (FBF)
    • Brazilian Football Association (CBF)
    • Colombian Football Association (CFA)
    • Japan Football Association (JFA)
    • Korea Football Association (expressing interest in a joint bid with DPR Korea Football Association)
    • New Zealand Football
    South African Football Association (Safa)

    You may also like