• Lorch, Pitso wins big at PSL awards

    Thembinkosi Lorch of Orlando Pirates

    Orlando Pirates star Thembinkosi Lorch and Mamelodi Sundowns coach Pitso Mosimane were the big winners at the PSL awards ceremony on Sunday evening.

    The Premier Soccer League ( PSL ) held its annual end of the season awards ceremony at the Durban International Convention Centre.

    Pitso Mosimane, who guided Mamelodi Sundowns to their record ninth PSL title, was named Coach of the Season.

    Meanwhile, Thembinkosi Lorch was named Absa Premiership Players’ Player of the Season as well as scooping the Footballer of the Year award for his stellar season with Orlando Pirates, beating the likes of Hlompho Kekana amd Themba Zwane to both accolades.

    Sundowns captain Kekana walked away with the PSL Midfielder of the Season award, while his fellow teammate Ricardo Nascimemto was named Defender of the Season.

    Black Leopards striker Mwape Musonda walked away with the PSL Top Goalscorer award after bagging 16 goals during the 2018-19 PSL season.

    Take a look at the award winners in full:

    PSL Footballer of the Season: Thembinkosi Lorch  (Orlando Pirates)

    Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season: Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United)

    Absa Premiership Defender of the Season: Ricardo Nacimento (Mamelodi Sundowns)

    Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season: Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns)

    Absa Premiership Young player of the Season: Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport United)

    Absa Premiership Players’ Player of the Season: Thembinkosi Lorch (Orlando Pirates)

    Absa Premiership Coach of the Season: Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

    MTN8 Last man standing: Peter Leeuwenburgh (Cape Town City)

    Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament: Elvis Chipezeze (Baroka FC)

    Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament: Zakhele Lepasa (TS Galaxy)

    Nedbank Most promising player: Terrence Mashego (TS Galaxy)

    Multichoice Diski Challenge Player of the Tournament: Sipho Chaine (Bloemfontein Celtic)

    Diski Shield Player of the Tournament: Siboniso Conco (Golden Arrows)

    Absa Premiership Goal of the Season: Vincent Pule (Orlando Pirates) vs Polokwane City

    You may also like