• Title permutations as Chiefs, Sundowns look to clinch PSL crown

    Chiefs Sundowns

    The 2019-20 PSL season will finally come to an end on Saturday afternoon. There have been massive disruptions and doubts cause by the coronavirus but, come Saturday afternoon, the champions will be crowned. Will it be Kaizer Chiefs or Mamelodi Sundowns? SoccerClub unpacks all the title permutations.

    With both Chiefs and Sundowns sitting level on 59 points at the top of the table goal difference could come into play to decide the title. Amakhosi hold the slight advantage in that regard with a superior goal difference (+21) to Sundowns (+18), the Brazilians thus needing a big win to turn things around.

    Both teams will come up against teams fighting for their league survival which adds an extra dynamic to the encounters.

    Chiefs visit Baroka while Sundowns will be at home against Black Leopards, but what are the permutations for either side to win the league title?

    Chiefs lose, Sundowns draw

    This scenario is straightforward since both teams are equal on points going into Saturday’s matches.

    If Chiefs lose and Sundowns draw then the league title will be won by the Tshwane giants by a single point.

    So, this result would favour Sundowns more than Chiefs.

    Chiefs win, Sundowns lose/draw

    A straight win for Amakhosi and a loss or draw for Sundowns and the league trophy would head to Naturena for the first time in five years.

    Sundowns have to go for the kill against Leopards, who are fighting for their survival at the bottom of the log.

    Anything less than the three points will not be enough for Sundowns to clinch their 10th league title, especially if Chiefs win their match – even if it’s a 1-0 win for the Soweto giants.

    Both Chiefs, Sundowns draw or lose

    Should both Chiefs and Sundowns draw their respective matches by whatever scoreline, then the Soweto giants will clinch the title.

    A loss for both sides will then go down to goal difference. If Baroka beat Chiefs 5-0 and Sundowns lose 1-0 to Leopards, then the trophy will head to Chloorkop as it will go down to the goal difference.

    But a 1-0 loss to both teams will have Chiefs beat Sundowns to the title.

    You may also like