• Mbappe wins World Cup Young Player award

    Kylian Mbappe of France

    World Cup winner Kylian Mbappe has won the Fifa Young Player award for his performances at Russia 2018.

    The Paris Saint-Germain star is the second France player in a row to win the prize, after teammate Paul Pogba claimed it four years ago.

    The award, which can only be won by players who are under the age of 21, is given to the outstanding young footballer at the finals.

    READ: France crowned 2018 World Cup champions

    ‘Technical qualities such as skill, style and charisma are taken into account, but so are other important factors such as a sense of fair play and a genuine impression that the player is playing for the love of the game,’ according to Fifa.

    READ MORE: Courtois open to Chelsea stay amid Madrid links

    Mbappe scored four times in seven appearances to help his country lift a second world title, netting in the 4-2 win over Croatia in Sunday’s final.

    The 19-year-old became the first teenager to score twice in the same World Cup game since Pele in 1958 when he hit a double in the 4-3 last-16 win over Argentina.

    READ MORE: Hazard clouds Chelsea future amid Real Madrid rumours

    You may also like